Current Trainees

Trainee Email Department Research Interests
Tanya Amert tamert@cs.unc.edu Computer Science Physically-based simulations, particularly of deformable bodies such as cloth.
Anthony Abrantes abrantes@live.unc.edu Biostatistics Classification and prediction for genetics and imaging.
Montika Bush mbush8@unc.edu
Stephen Capuzzi sc464303@email.unc.edu
Iain Carmichael idcarm@live.unc.edu

Statistics and Operations Research

Broadly I am interested in the intersection of statistics and machine learning. My current focuses are in networks and high dimensional classification.

Sherry Chao hchao@email.unc.edu Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Funcational role and therapeutic potential of CUL9 loss on p53 regulation.
Monica Chaudhari mcunc12@live.unc.edu
Meredith Corley mcorley@email.unc.edu
Wesley Crouse wcrouse@email.unc.edu
Monica E. D’Arcy mdarcy100@hotmail.com
Owen Francis ofrancis@email.unc.edu
Ray Haggerty haggerty@unc.edu Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Image processing and analysis of microscopy data, and mathematical modeling of cellular processes.
Kyung Su Kim kskim@email.unc.edu
Weizi Li weizili@cs.unc.edu Computer Science My research interests lies in multi-agent simulation with potential application to biomedical applications.
Elizabeth Marie Martin emsebas@live.unc.edu
David A. Pritchard dpritch@live.unc.edu
Samantha Puvanesarajah sampuva@email.unc.edu
Bryan Quach bquach@email.unc.edu Genetrics, curriculum in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Broadly, my research interests involve the development and application of computational and statistical techniques for mining and analyzing ibological data sets. I a currently a graduate research assistant in Dr. Terry Furey’s computational genomics group where I am developing a dscriminative machine learning framework to integrate complementary data types for transcription factor binding site prediction. I enjoy conducting exploratory data anlysis to uncover patterns or applied to superised machine learning methods for classificaion tasks in genomics. I am most intrigued by biological problems related to studying chromatin dynamics and gene regulation in the context of disease and environmental stress.
Mahmoud Shobair shobair@email.unc.edu
Tetsuya Takahashi tetsuya@cs.unc.edu
Chanin Tolson ctolson@email.unc.edu
Trumble, Ilana iltr7798@live.unc.edu
Dana Walsh dana_walsh@med.unc.edu
Timothy Wessler wessler@live.unc.edu Mathematics I use mathematical modeling to investigate biological problems. My current projects involve the study of mammalian cell mechanics and motility and HIV-antibody-mucin interactions .
Shan Yang alexyang@cs.unc.edu
Caitlin Hult chult@live.unc.edu  Mathematics  Mathematical modeling of living yeast chromosomes, with particular emphasis on how parameters influence chromosome movement, interactions, and territory formation, as well as on ways to effectively visualize simulated chromatin dynamics.
Jessime Kirk jessime@email.unc.edu
Aaron Barrett abarret@live.unc.edu
Yanni Lai yannil@live.unc.edu
Carol Sadek sadekcw@live.unc.edu
Brian Adam bgadam@live.unc.edu
Robert Corty robert_corty@med.unc.edu Genetics (BCB curriculum) The genetics of environmental drivers of anxiety disorders.
Josh Lawrimore lawrimor@email.unc.edu Biology I am interested in simulating and comparing polymer models of chromosomes to fluorescence microscopy data to understand how the properties and thermodynamics of chromatin influence chromosome organization and dynamics.
Daniel Luckett luckett@live.unc.edu Biostatistics Machine learning and semiparametric inference applied to precision medicine, dynamic treatment regimes, and mobile health.
Marissa Seamans seamans@unc.edu Epidemiology Identifying patterns of prescription drug abuse in large healthcare databases; causal inference in social networks.
Natalie Stanley stanleyn@email.unc.edu Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Probabilistic models for community structure in networds and associated inference techniques.
Joshua Welch jwelch@cs.unc.edu
Jae Ho “Mike” Lee jaeholee@live.unc.edu Department of¬†Mathematics I am interested in Mathematical Mathematical Medicine/Physiology and Computational Sciences. Starting in Fall 2014, I joined Professor Boyce Griffit’s Cardiovascualr and Modeling Simulation Group as a graudate research assistant. I am involved in developing mathematical and computational tools to develop physiological models that can be used to study various heart diseases. My goal is not only to enrich my knowledge and experience in the field of computational medicine, but also to seek more direct and tangible ways to use mathematics for the betterment of human health.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.